The Rock Building Society was an approved deposit taking institution governed by the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA). It offered everyday transaction and savings accounts, personal and home loans, rural and commercial loans, credit and debit cards, term deposits, financial planning, online banking as well as home & contents, landlord, motor vehicle, loan protection, travel, boat and caravan insurance. The Rock had offices throughout Queensland from Cairns to Belmont and served over 40,000 customers via 7 standard branches and 12 mini branches. The Rock’s loan customers were located across Australia, with about 50% based in Queensland. The company had about $1 billion in total loans and $800 million in retail deposits. The Rock Building Society was founded in 1967 and is headquartered in Rockhampton. In 1992, it was listed on the Australian Stock Exchange.

On 31 August 2011, The Rock Building Society and MyState Limited announced their agreement to merge with forming a regional financial services group. In 2015 The Rock was fully transferred into MyState Bank, but retained its own brand.

During 2019, MyState Limited consolidated its banking brands and rebranded The Rock as MyState Bank.

MyState Ltd, with origins dating back to 1887, is a national financial group headquartered in Hobart, Tasmania.

The Rock cards:
Low Rate MasterCard
Platinum Rewards MasterCard
Multiple-currency card for use overseas
Visa Debit Card
rediCARD Plus

Head office address:
PO Box 562
102 Bolsover Street
Rockhampton QLD 4700
Phone: 1800 806 645
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
BSB number: 655 000